Sweden Announces its A-Squad with New Names for 2022

Stockholm, Sweden – December 22, 2021 – Swedish showjumping had an unforgettable year that will be forever marked in the history books of the noble sport in 2021 with fantastic success. The medals came in the form of Olympic team gold, Olympic Individual silver and individual bronze at the European Championships. Moreover, two Swedes are in the top three of the Longines FEI Jumping World Ranking standings – Peder Fredricson (SWE) in first place and Henrik von Eckermann (SWE) in third place.

New Names in the A squad

As the national team captain, Henrik Ankarcrona has now selected the national jumping team for 2022. In the A-team, the entire gold team has earned their places. Moreover, new names were added to the squad: Petronella Andersson (SWE) and Jens Fredricson (SWE). The following riders and horses have been confirmed as members of the national A-squad for 2022:

Peder Fredericson (SWE) H&M All In (Kashmir van Schuttershof x Andiamo Z), H&M Christian K (Namelus R x LBH Calvados) and Catch Me Not S (Cardento x Ramiro’s Son) 

Henrik von Eckermann (SWE) & King Edward (Edward 28 x Feo) 

Malin Baryard-Johnsson (SWE) & H&M Indiana (Kashmir van Schuttershof x Animo’s Hallo) 

Rolf-Göran Bengstsson (SWE) & Ermindo W (Singapore x Carinjo) 

Angelica Augustsson Zanotelli (SWE) & Kalinka v/d Nachtegaele (Epleaser van’t Heike x Cicerco Z) 

Douglas Lindelöw with Cheldon (Chacco-Blue x Baloubet du Rouet) and Casquo Blue (Chacco-Blue x Carthago Z) 

Evelina Tovek (SWE) & Dalila de La Pomme (Taran de la Pomme x Diamant de Semilly) and Winnetou de La Hamente Z (Winningmood x Socrate de Chivre) 

Angelie von Essen (SWE) & Alcapone des Carmille (Diamant de Semilly x Heartbreaker) 

Petronella Andersson (SWE) & Castres v/d Begijnakker Z (Coriano Z x Palestro vd Begijnakker) 

Jens Fredericson (SWE) & Markans Cosmopolit (Cohiba x Calido I) 

Source: Press Release from the Swedish Equestrian Federation / Svenska Ridsportforbundet

Photo: © FEI / Satu Pirinen