CSI 4*

Marcus Westergren & Astree de Burgo Score the Win in €26,775 ClipMyHorse TV Prize CSI 4* at the Sunshine Tour

SUNSHINE TOUR 2020www.moisesbasallote.com

Vejer de La Frontera, Spain – Friday, February 28, 2020 – Today was a local holiday celebrating Andalucia and the showground here at Montenmedio was full of curious visitors keen to see for themselves the world class riders competing here at the most important jumping Tour in Europe. An especially electric atmosphere surrounded the €26,775 Big Tour class today, which was sponsored by the official German television station for the Sunshine Tour, ClipMyHorse TV.

The channel broadcasts every class live from Montenmedio throughout the 6 weeks of competition. Victory today was claimed by the Swedish rider Marcus Westergren (SWE) riding Astree de Burgo, backed by a clean scorecard, going through the jump-off timers in 31.68 seconds.

The Swede stated ; “It was a marvelous feeling to win, the mare jumped really well and I feel delighted with her efforts today, she is only just 9 years old, but she is a great competitor. However, she also has quite a character!

The course was designed by Javier Trénor (ESP) and took no prisoners with only 9 combinations getting through to the jump off. The Spanish rider Carolina Aresu Garcia Obregon (ESP) with Untrepide de Puychety (Mr. Blue x Hand In Glove) was second with a great round, finishing only two-tenths of a second behind the winners.

Carolina stated: “It was an extremely technical track and very demanding, I had to have everything calculated, especially as I was first to go. My horse was incredible and jumped very fast and clear. I just hope he isn’t too tired for the Grand Prix on Sunday!

Pedro Junqueira Muylaert (BRA) completed the podium aboard Prince Royal Z MFS (Prince de Revel / Ramiro).  This pair were the winners of the Longines GP in La Baule, 2017. They also took part in the 2016 Rio Olympics. This time they earned bronze honors after a double clear, crossing the finish line in 32.82 seconds during the tiebreaker

For full results, please click here.

Source: Press release from Oxersport

Photo: © Moises Basallote Fotografia