Nicola Philippaerts & Klaartje Z Lead the Race for the Belgian Championship Title

Lanaken, Belgium – September 21, 2023 – Nicola Philippaerts (BEL) and Klaartje Z (by Kannan) remain in the lead after the second round of the Belgian Championships. They already won the Table C competition the day before, and Thursday’s clear round was enough to remain on top of the rankings. Zero penalties therefore for Nicola going into Saturday’s final, reserved for the top 16. 

Gilles Thomas (BEL), with Ermitage Kalone (Catoki), started Thursday`s round with 2.55 penalty points in third place. Gilles and Ermitage moved up to second place after a clear round within the time allowed..

Yves Vanderhasselt and Nikita van de Koekelberg (Filou de Muze) climbed from fifth to third after a clear round. Niels Bruynseels (Nauwsika van de Pereboom, Thunder vd Zuuthoeve) had a pole down in the triple jump off, falling back from fourth to tenth place.

Virginie Thonon (Edgard de Prefontaine, Contact vd Heffinck) was second but unfortunately got one penalty point for time, dropping them to fourth place. Dominique Joassin (Bingo Z, Balou du Rouet) is halfway fifth, just ahead of Lieven Devos (Inca’s Big Think, Think Big by T&L) and Koen Vereecke with Halima van het Bonte Hof Z (Hos d’O).  The top five are less than one pole behind from leader Philippaerts.

Standings – Belgian Senior Championship after two rounds

1) Nicola Philippaerts (BEL) & Klaartje Z – 0 / 0 = 0

2) Gilles Thomas (BEL) & Ermitage Kalone – 2.55 / 0 = 2.55

3) Yves Vanderhasselt (BEL) & Nikita van de Koekelberg – 2.67 / 0 = 2.67

Source: Press Release from Zangersheide

Photo: © Zangersheide