Tracy Fenney & MTM McIntosh Shift to a Higher Gear in the $24,000 C. Jarvis Insurance Welcome Prix

Ocala, Florida, USA – July 27, 2023 – National show jumping competition resumed early this morning during Week VIII of the 2023 Ocala Summer Series with the $24,000 C. Jarvis Insurance Welcome Prix. A thrilling ten horse jump-off made for an electric competition with placings separated by just tenths of a second. Last to go in the order, Tracy Fenney (USA) and Nina Koloseike’s MTM McIntosh (Crowntano Z x Butterfly PS Z) kicked into a new gear to capture the lion’s share of the prize money. 

The time allowed set by FEI Level III course designer Catsy Cruz (MEX) became a factor in the first round for several riders including Fenney. “Each horse of mine in the first round had time faults, so I had to prove something to myself with McIntosh.” 

With each horse going faster than the next in the jump-off, Fenney knew she had to lay it all on the table with the scopey nine-year-old Zangersheide stallion, “From one to two, I left one stride out from everyone else, they did eight, I did seven. Rode right over to the double and left out to the Lugano. I could have probably done seven down the last line, because I did eight in the first round, but the eight ended up being easy. I think I kicked into a new gear – he didn’t have a choice,” laughed Fenney. 

Tracy Fenney (USA) & MTM McIntosh

The pair flew over the C. Jarvis Insurance oxer, stopping the clock at a blistering 32.014 seconds to steal the lead.

“McIntosh felt great today. He’s not very big compared to all my other horses, but he wants to be quick and he’s super careful and scopey. He’ll for sure do the grand prix on Saturday after doing so great today,” Fenney predicted. 

Andrea Torres Guerreiro (COL) & Picara Polka Amouretta

Andrea Torres Guerreiro (COL) and her own eight-year-old Belgian Warmblood mare Picara Polka Amouretta (Kannan x Wolinda) secured second place with a time of 32.632 seconds, just sixth tenths of second off the pace.

Marcello Ciavaglia (BRA) & HST Cartouche

Marcello Ciavaglia (BRA) and Arnoldo Wald Filho’s 12-year-old Zangersheide stallion HST Cartouche (Carthoes B Z x ADC Chantilly Z) rounded out the top three with a time of 32.892 seconds. 

Tracy Fenney (USA) & MTM McIntosh during the awards ceremony

Final Results – $24,000 C. Jarvis Insurance Welcome Prix

1) Tracy Fenney (USA) & MTM McIntosh, Nina Koloseike: 0 | 0 | 32.014

2) Andrea Torres Guerreiro (COL) & Picara Polka Amouretta, Andrea Torres Guerreiro: 0 | 0 |. 32.632

3) Marcello Ciavaglia (BRA) & HST Cartouche, Arnoldo Walk Filho: 0 | 0 | 32.892

4) Dorothy Douglas (USA) & MTM Pablo, MTM Farm: 0 | 0 | 32.932

5) Kristen Vanderveen (USA) & Bull Run’s David, VW Sales: 0 | 0 | 32.955

6) Tom Foley (IRL) & Idalgo, Sher Al Farm: 0 | 0 | 33.338

7) Matthew Williams (AUS) & ABC Quantum Cruise, Wyndmont Inc.: 0 | 0 | 34.157

8) Alberto Michan (ISR) & Itchcock Des Dames, Marco Zamudio: 0 | 0 | 34.236

9) Dorothy Douglas (USA) & Caepten 2, MTM Farm: 0 | 4 | 33.474

10) Clark Montgomery (USA) & Aska Blue, Serenity Spring Farm: 0 | 4 | 35.390 

Source: Press Release from WEC – World Equestrian Center

Photos: © Andrew Ryback Photography