European Champions Andre Thieme & DSP Chakaria Confirm Top Form Winning €200,000 Longines Grand Prix of Falsterbo CSIO 5*

Falsterbo, Sweden – July 17, 2022 – The 2022 edition of the Falsterbo Horse Show CSIO 5* culminated with the €200,000 Longines Grand Prix of Falsterbo CSIO 5*, held on a sunny Sunday and packed stands for what promised to be a thriller right down to the wire.

A total of 48 combinations participated in the contest on a course designed by Frank Rothenberger (GER) and run on a two-round format. Swedish spectators were in for a treat as the host nation led the charge for the individual crown jewel, qualifying four of their combinations amongst the total of 12 who returned to face the 1.60m obstacles in the second round. However, the Swedes were denied a victory.

Andre Thieme (GER) & DSP Chakaria

After having won the Falsterbo Derby CSIO 5* yesterday, it was Andre Thieme (GER) who stole the spotlight once again, teaming up with his European Champion partner, DSP Chakaria (Chap 47 x Askari 173), for another milestone victory. The pairs returned in reverse order and despite being the fifth duo to go in the final round, Thieme (GER) dared the 12-year-old chestnut German Sport Horse (Brandenburger) to take a very tight turn to the penultimate obstacle before charging towards and clearing the Longines oxer to stop the timers in 44.73 seconds for the lead for good.

After having a pole down and barely qualifying for the second round, Peder Fredricson (SWE) and H&M Christian K climbed up the final standings, finishing in a respectable seventh place after a clean performance in the second round. Wilma Hellstrom (SWE) and Cicci BJN added 8 penalty-points to their score of four in the previous round, disappointing Swedish spectators.

Hessel Hoekstra (NED) and Icoon VDL (VDL Bubalu x Cardento) improved on their performance of two time penalties from the first round, registering a clean score and a time of 52.30 seconds in their second effort, a performance that would eventually earn them bronze honors.

After a flawless performance in the first round, Jens Fredricson (SWE) rode Markan Cosmopolit and was in the running for the victory but a late rail at the end of round two resulted in a sixth-place finish just ahead of his brother. Rolf-Goran Bengtsson (SWE) and Ermindo W‘s second effort was also disappointing, the duo had the two last poles down to finish only tenth.

Henrik von Eckermann (SWE) & Nababette Z

The final hopes of the Swedes were on the shoulders of Henrik von Eckermann (SWE) and Nababette Z (Nabab de Reve x Gasper) and the duo came very close to the win, just being denied, finishing second because of their final time of 45 seconds.

Final Results – €200,000 Longines Grand Prix of Falsterbo CSIO 5*

1) Andre Thieme (GER) & DSP Chakaria – 0 / 0 = 0 – 44.73

2)  Henrik von Eckermann (SWE) & Nababette Z – 0 / 0 = 0 – 45.00

3) Hessel Hoekstra (NED) & Icoon VDL – 2 / 0 = 2 – 52.30

Text: Jumper News, no reproduction without permission.

Photos: © Falsterbo Horse Show