Constant van Paesschen & Diaz du Thot Top €25,980 Grand Prix CSI 2* at Lanaken

Lanaken, Belgium – April 03, 2022 – The opening week of our 2022 Z-Tour is over! Despite the fact that the weather conditions in recent days there may not always have been optimal, spectators were able to enjoy a lot of beautiful sport at different levels for four days. The 6- and 7-year-old horses again gained a lot of experience, the U25 riders showed their talent in a mutual competition and then there was the two-star competition in which many top riders gave the best of themselves.

During the final day on Sunday, we were naturally looking forward to the various grands prix, with the €25,980 Grand Prix CSI 2* as the absolute highlight. Sixty-three combinations appeared at the start in this 1.45m main class and twelve of them managed to clear the basic round of course designer Bernard Mathy and his team and so qualified for the jump-off. In the end, it was Constant van Paesschen (BEL) who became the winner with the 9-year-old mare Diaz du Thot (Ready Boy des Forets ‘Hn’ x Diams du Grasset). As eighth starter in the ring, Van Paesschen and Diaz du Thot cantered to a finish time of 37.75 seconds, ending thus more than one and a half seconds ahead of the rest of the competitors.

Victoria Gulliksen (NOR) & Belle Fayvinia Z

Second place went to Norwegian lady rider Victoria Gulliksen (NOR) with her 12-year-old Zangersheide mare Belle Fayvinia Z (Baloubet du Rouet x Raphae – B: H.J. Knegt). Gulliksen (NOR) and Belle Fayvinia Z had set the tone as the second starter with a clear jump-off in 39.36 seconds, but in the end they clearly had to acknowledge their superiority in van Paesschen and Diaz du Thot.

Eiken Sato (JPN) & Chacanno Jra

The Japanese rider Eiken Sato (JPN) was good for a third place in the ranking. He also noted a clear round in the jump-off with his 15-year-old gelding Chacanno Jra (Chacco Blue x Kannan), crossing the finish line in 39.74 seconds.

Final Results – €25,980 Grand Prix CSI 2*

1) Constant van Paesschen (BEL) & Diaz du Thot⁣ – 0 / 0 – 37.75

2) Victoria Gulliksen (NOR) Belle Fayvinia Z⁣ – 0 / 0 – 39.36

3) Eiken Sato (JPN) & Chacanno Jr⁣⁣⁣⁣ – 0 / 0 – 39.74

Source: Press Release from Zangersheide

Photos: © Zangersheide / Wil Smeets