Brittni Raflowitz & Safira Start Summer Series with $25,000 Tryon Resort Grand Prix Win

Mill Spring, North Carolina – June 20, 2021 –  Brittni Raflowitz (ISR) and Safira raced their way to a first-place finish to kick off the 2021 Tryon Summer Series, winning Sunday’s $25,000 Tryon Resort Grand Prix at Tryon International Equestrian Center & Resort (TIEC). The pair claimed victory over the field with a jump-off time of 34.897 seconds.

Darragh Kerins (IRL) & Delight M-G C De Leuze

Darragh Kerins (IRL) and Delight M-G C De Leuze, the 2009 Dutch Warmblood mare (Armitage x Unknown) owned by Trefoil Farm LLC, took second place with a time of 34.966 seconds.

Raflowitz (ISR) and the 2012 Mecklenburger mare (Stylist x Carina) owned by ESI Show Jumpers are a new partnership, and the class was the mare’s first Grand Prix, she revealed. “We’re all really excited right now, and I’m so happy with her. She was unbelievable. I’ve only had her for a few months.” After deciding to challenge the Grand Prix to “just see how it would go,” Raflowitz was thrilled with the way her ride responded. “She felt like she was ready to go and was jumping out of her skin. It’s very exciting!

David Blake (IRL) & Nixon Van D’Abelendreef

David Blake (IRL) claimed third, stopping the timers at 35.307 seconds on Nixon van D’Abelendereef, the 2013 Belgian Warmblood gelding (Diamant de Semilly x Toulon) owned by JP Stables B.V.

“The course actually felt really nice,” Raflowitz relayed of the Skip Bailey (USA) design. “You were able to move up in some spots and then you had to pull in some spots. He didn’t challenge us [too much], but he made us think a little bit. I was happy with it.” Raflowitz was one of six entries who qualified for the jump-off test, after 14 pairs toured the first-round course.

Riders had the option of testing the jump-off track immediately following their clear first round or waiting to come back for a jump-off round, and Raflowitz chose to go ahead and ride her short course early on in the class. “After I realized that we were going into the second round, and with the way it was raining, I just decided to continue on. She felt really good and was warm and ready to go.”

Brittni Raflowitz (ISR) & Safira during the awards ceremony

Final Results – $25,000 Tryon Resort Grand Prix

1) Brittni Raflowitz (ISR) & Safira – 0 / 0 – 34.897

2) Darragh Kerins (IRL) & Delight M-G C De Leuze – 0 / 0 – 34.966

3) David Blake (IRL) & Nixon Van D’Abelendreef – 0 / 0 – 35.307

Source: Press Release from TIEC – Tryon International Equestrian Center

Photos: © Sportfot