Equestrian Sports New Zealand Announces 2021 High Performance Jumping Squad

Wellington, New Zealand – Equestrian Sports New Zealand has announced its High Performance and National Performance Squads for the 2021 season. The four combinations selected to the High Performance squad are as follows:

Bruce Goodin (NZL) & Backatorps Danny V, owned by Backatorp Ryder AB and Ulrika Goodin;

Daniel Meech (NZL) & Cinca 3, owned by Johnson Horses GmbH & Daniel Meech;

Tom Tarver (NZL) & Popeye, owned by Tom Tarver & Lucia Voss;

Uma O’Neill (NZL) & Clockwise of Greenhill Z, owned by O’Neill Show Jumping, LLC.

The High Performance Futures squad is made up of the following combinations:

Brooke Edgecombe (NZL) & LT Holst Andrea, owned by Brooke Edgecombe Tegan Fitzsimon and Windermere Cappuccino, owned by the Parkes Family;

Annabel Francis (NZL) & Carado GHP, owned by Debbie & Annabel Francis;

Annabel Francis (NZL) & La Quinara, owned by Annabel Francis;

Richard Gardner (NZL) & Calisto 5, owned by Gestut Jennissen and Gut Nechen Agrar GmbH;

Sharn Wordley (NZL) & Verdini d’Houtveld Z, owned by Lauren Balcomb & Sharn Wordley.

ESNZ High Performance is responsible for the selection of High Performance and High Performance Futures squads as well as selection for Nations Cups, WEG and Olympic Games. The country also boasts a performance pathway program to identify athletes with potential for high performance sport, with categories for National Young Rider (NZ Young Rider teams), National Talent ID (NZ Young Rider and Senior Rider teams) and National Talent Development (NZ Senior Rider teams).

To view the National Performance squads and learn more about the Jumping Performance Pathway, visit NZEquestrian.org.nz

Sources: Press release by Catie Staszak / Catie Staszak Media / Equestrian Sports New Zealand

Photo: © Sara Shier Photography