CSI 2*

Jessica Mendoza & Dublin Complete Double Winning the $50,000 Grand Prix CSI 2* at Columbus

Columbus, Ohio – September 27, 2020 – Jessica Mendoza (GBR) rode Dublin to victory in the $50,000 FEI Grand Prix CSI 2* to culminate the first of two weeks of competition at the Split Rock Jumping Tour’s (SRJT) Columbus International CSI 2*.

Operating under COVID-19 protocols and guidelines, the Split Rock Jumping Tour’s (SRJT) Columbus International I CSI2* was held at the Brave Horse Equestrian Center. Running with approvals from the State of Ohio, FEI and USEF, action will continue at the same site with the Columbus International II CSI2*. 

Jessica Mendoza (GBR) & Dublin

Out of a starting field of 59 horses, Mendoza was one of eight to reach the tiebreaking jump-off by riding without penalty over the 16-jump, first-round course designed by Anderson Lima of Brazil. Eight entries then turned in another clean round over the eight-jump, jump-off course with Mendoza claiming the win with the fastest time of 42.080 seconds. Placing second was Ali Wolff (USA) with zero faults in 43.510 seconds on Footloose HX with third going to Michael Dean Burnett (USA) who finished with zero faults in 45.730 seconds on Chagrand

Jessica Mendoza (GBR)

Following the Grand Prix, Mendoza was also named winner of the Restylane® Leading Rider Award. Continuing a Split Rock Jumping Tour tradition, $1,000 was awarded to Izzy Beisel as winner of the Horseflight Fist Pump Award

Jessica Mendoza (GBR) & Dublin

The Columbus International I CSI 2* featured a full schedule of show jumping classes ranging in height from .85m to 1.45m with classes for juniors, amateurs and top professionals. “This was a great week of horse show competition and I thank everyone for their continued support,” said Split Rock Jumping Tour Founder and CEO Derek Braun. “We look forward to another great week here starting on Wednesday.”

Podium: Jessica Mendoza (center) with Ali Wolff (left) and Michael Dean Burnett (right) with Split Rock Jumping Tour Founder and CEO Derek Braun 

For full results, please click here.

Source: Press release from Split Rock Jumping Tour

Photos: © Split Rock Jumping Tour / Winslow Photography