CSI 2*

Keean White & Leilani Top $40,000 Grand Prix CSI 2* at Angelstone Tournaments

2018. Angelstone CSI 2 GP Keean White & Leilani Ringside Media.jpg

Busy day at the Stadium yesterday! Juniors and Amateurs from the 1.20m, 1.30m and 1.40m levels competed in their last class of the week, the Jumper Classic. Mother nature was on our side yesterday giving us a stunning day of competition!

The feature event of the day, the $40,000 Delta Hotels & Dwight Crane Grand Prix CSI 2* was nothing short of thrilling yesterday evening. Seventeen riders were challenged by a tactful track set by Oscar Soberon. Seven riders advanced to the jump-off, with a set time allowed of 50 seconds. Nick Dello Joio (USA), Keean White (CAN), Rachel Cornacchia (CAN), Yann Candele (CAN), Mark Kinsella (IRL) and Susan Horn (CAN) made it through.

Keean White (CAN) and the 8-year-old sensation Leilani were fastest to go through the timers, earning top honors. The Canadian and the grey Oldenburg mare left dust to the rest of the field after posting a penalty-free performance in the jump-off, crossing the finish line in 38.229 seconds.

Nick Dello Joio (USA) and Sweet Tricia were not far behind them, standing on the second step of the podium with a clean scorecard and a time of 38.910 seconds during the tiebreaker.

Rachel Cornacchia (CAN) & Valkyrie de Talma (Diamant de Semilly x Cento) rode to a third-place finish backed by two flawless runs, the second one in 39.294 seconds.

2018. Angelstone CSI 2 GP Cel Keean White & Leilani Ringside Media.jpg

Nick Dello Joio (USA), Keean White (CAN) and Rachel Cornacchia (CAN) having a champagne shower on the podium during the awards ceremony

This concludes the first phase of the Kubota Triple Crown! We are already looking forward to phases two and three, which will be held on the 25th and on the 1st, at 8:00 pm in our Main Stadium!

The Kubota Triple Crown will be awarded to the rider who wins the most money in the three Saturday night events in August. The current standings going into the phase II are as follows:

1 Keean White $12,200.00
2 Nick Dello Joio $8,000.00
3 Rachel Cornacchia $6,000.00
4 Mark Kinsella $4,000.00
5 Susan Horn $2,800.00
6 Yann Candele $1,600.00
7 Leslie Howard $1,200.00
7 Sam Walke $1,200.00
9 Jim Ifko $1,000.00
9 Hyde Moffat $1,000.00
9 Heather Caristo $1,000.00

For full results, click here.

Source: Press Release by Angelstone Tournaments

Photos: © Ringside Media