Top Riders Ready to Take to the Skies at Jumping Indoor Maastrict CSI 4*

2019. Maastricht CSI 4 Preview Danielle Goldstein & Lizziemary JIM

Maastricht, The Netherlands – November 06, 2019 – The competitor field of Jumping Indoor Maastricht CSI 4* (8-10 November) is complete. In total 43 international riders from 11 countries will compete with 124 horses. The names on the list promise three days of great and exciting sport there.

Belgium is well presented, eight riders will travel to Maastricht, among them the 2017 Longines Trophy-Grand Prix of Maastricht CSI 4* winner Olivier Philippaerts (BEL). The Belgian riders always perform strong at JIM, Olivier’s twin-brother, Nicola, won the Longines Trophy in 2016. However, Jérôme Guery (BEL), winner of team gold at the Europeans in Rotterdam this year and team silver at the Longines FEI Nations Cup final in Barcelona, will give his all for a victory. The Belgian team is completed with Pieter Clemens (BEL), Dominique Hendrickx (BEL), Gudrun Patteet (BEL), Thibault Philippaerts (BEL), Cindy van der Straten (BEL) and Frederic Vernaet (BEL).

The winner of the inaugural edition of JIM (1988), Ludger Beerbaum (BEL), has carefully chosen Jumping Indoor Maastricht as opener of his indoor season. “I know Maastricht is a wonderful event with excellent facilities for horse and rider. The ambiance is great, the programming is good with a variety of classes. For me the ideal start of the indoor season.” Philipp Weishaupt (GER), stable rider at Beerbaum, and the young talent Sophie Hinners (GER) complete the German team. Ireland is sending top riders Shane Breen (IRL) and Denis Lynch (IRL). Representing Israel,  Dani G. Waldman (ISR) is a rising star. She is not only performing very successfully, she is also known for her appearance with her hair with colourful feathers. This year she won, among others, the LGCT Grand Prix of Shanghai and Berlin. France’s Kevin Staut (FRA), the 2009 European champion and winner of team gold at the 2016 Rio Olympics will make his debut at JIM.

Strong Dutch Representation

The Netherlands will send their best combinations to Maastricht with, among others, Jeroen Dubbeldam (NED), Kim Emmen (NED), Frank Schuttert (NED), Harrie Smolders (NED), Leopold van Asten (NED) and Eric and Maikel van der Vleuten (NED), all with chances of winning. It has been four years since a Dutch rider won the Longines Trophy: Maikel van der Vleuten accomplished it in 2013 and 2014.

Source: News release from Jumping Indoor Maastricht

Photo: © Jumping Indoor Maastricht