CSI 5*

Preview: Longines FEI Jumping World Cup™ – The Road to Göteborg Starts at Thunderbird Show Park

unnamed (1)

The 2018/2019 Longines FEI Jumping World Cup™ North American

League Kicks off at the Summer Fort Festival this August!

Thunderbird Show Park, Langley, British Columbia, Canada – August 16, 2018 – Next to an Olympic medal, the Longines FEI Jumping World Cup™ title is the single greatest honour an individual athlete can aspire to in the sport of show jumping.

Athletes from 52 countries, competing in 16 different leagues, have ten months to amass enough World Cup points to qualify for the Final in Göteborg, Sweden next April. Only 45 will earn the right to compete for the coveted title. Of those, a mere 15 will hail from North America.

USA’s Beezie Madden has already booked her a ticket. As winner of the 2018 World Cup Final, the second title for the Olympic veteran, she is automatically granted a position on the start list as the defending champion.

For the rest of the North American riders, the journey starts at Langley, BC’s Thunderbird Show Park in August.

The first of 14 events in the 2018/2019 North American League, the Longines FEI Jumping World Cup™Vancouver, presented by Facet Advisors, is the first opportunity to get a jump on the points race. And you can bet they’ll come out swinging.

“It’s is such an honour having the opportunity for growth of our sport in Canada and the West Coast of North America. We are the first stop on the tour of the Longines FEI Jumping World Cup™ North American League and look forward to welcoming World Class riders and top equestrian sport to Vancouver,” said Jane Tidball, President of Thunderbird Show Park.

“We’re delighted to sponsor the Longines FEI Jumping World Cup™ Vancouver for the second year. As a long-time supporter of show jumping events, we are thrilled to be part of this world-class event, and to support these athletes as they seek to be best in class!” said Darren Millard, CEO of Facet Advisors.


Join us at Thunderbird Show Park on August 26, 2018 at 2:00 and watch the next chapter of FEI Jumping World Cup history unfold!

Fast Facts:

  • Admission is free to all tbird. events
  • tbird. hosts world class equestrian events that can be enjoyed by all ages
  • Parking is $10 a carload (proceeds donated to a local charity)
  • The first FEI Jumping World Cup™ Final was held in Gothenburg, Sweden in 1979.
  • Only 2 Canadians, 10 Americans, and 2 Mexicans will qualify for the Final through points.
  • Canada’s Ian Millar was the first show jumper to win back-to-back World Cup Finals. He and Big Ben won 1988 in Gothenburg and 1989 in Tampa.
  • Only four riders have managed to win the World Cup three times in its 40-year history: Hugo Simon (SUI), Marcus Ehning (GER), Meredith Michael-Beerbaum (GER), and Rodrigo Pessoa (BRA).
  • Pessoa is the only rider to win the title at three consecutive Finals and he did it with the same horse, the stallion Baloubet du Rouet (1998 to 2000)
  • Germany and the USA are tied for most winning country on 10 wins apiece.
  • When Rich Fellers and the amazing stallion Flexible won the title in 2012 he was the first American to do so in 25 years
  • The Youngest Winning Horse was the seven-year-old Aramis, ridden by Canada’s Mario Deslauriers in Gothenburg, Sweden in 1984.
  • Deslauriers, who was 19 at the time, is also the Youngest Winning Rider.

Source: Press Release by Thunderbird Show Park

Photos: © Moi Photography